So I’ve hit a snag in View.  A major one.  I have to have my heroine deceive the hero (or lie to him by omission), so I can push them apart after they’ve done the nasty (and no, this isn’t a plot device, just how it rolled out of my head).  This isn’t such a big deal, after all, as a chickie, I can think of a LOT of things I did before I married hubby that qual’d for something along those lines *g*, so that tells me there’s something bigger on the table.  Obviously, my subconscious is telling me that there’s something missing, or something that needs to be extrapolated on, in order for me to move on with this book.  Hell, I’ve already got the final “holy shit” scene written (about 40K ahead of time…it was that clear).  As a pantser, this is where I truly get stuck.  I DO NOT want this to be another Duck and Run (my WIP that’s been languishing for a looong time)…Sara’s character is screaming (and loudly, I might add) to get on with it already, so it’s not that I’m not in touch with her, there’s just something that’s not quite right.  Damned if I know what it is, but if I don’t figure it out by Wednesday, I’m gonna pull in my trusy crit partners (PG Forte, Dee Knight, Jennifer Skully and Leigh Wyndfield), so they can whap me over the head and tell me what I’m missing.  Maybe it’s because I’m really close to this manuscript, maybe even moreso than I have been with the others I’ve written…for some reason Sara really resonates with me (and not in the “I’m gonna go out and buy her presents way” *g*).  Or hell, maybe it’s because I’m expecting edits back on my super-secret Liquid Silver project AND the fact my edits with Samhain (Saints of Midland) should be starting in the semi-near future.  But I don’t think that’s it.  Sara and Roney are too damned demanding right now, which tells me that the story is ready to be told, there’s just a smidge that isn’t right.

Do you experience the same sort of thing, or am I as insane as my hubby says I am (he doesn’t “get” the creative process, but supports me 100% all the same)…

