So I had an absolute blast this weekend at the Spirit of Spring in Oklahoma conference!  We learned how to make incense (the “real” kind…no preservatives or nasty toxic crap), I didn’t make a complete ass of myself at my talk (or at least so they’ve reassured me), I got to attend an evening ritual AND I sold 25 books!  All in all it was a great way to spend a weekend, and something I’ll be attending in future years, whether as a speaker or an attendee.

One of the most interesting parts was the evening ritual.  I’m not going to go into details, because that would go against the whole concept of it, but I *have* tried to explain it to the folks at work, so I’ll attempt the same here. 

For those of you who have ever attended a Catholic Mass, it’s kind of the same (and yes, I’m fully aware that I’m going to Christian Hell for even comparing the two)…  The attendees are dressed in their best “church” wear (although Wiccans/Neo-Pagans go mostly barefoot, and in gowns that DO NOT involve wearing pantyhose…explain to me how this is wrong, again?), candles and incense are lit , and the group is asked to chant or answer at specific areas (sounding familiar, here?).  In this case, the ritual was invoking good luck…no not the Lotto kind of good luck, but rather a spiritual kind of “letting go” of bad luck and chasing it away.  It also involved some great visualizing that really reminded my of Astral Plane stuff.

While I’ll never be a Wiccan, I guess I could consider myself a neo-Pagan of a sort…I just can’t get into the whole organization thing, and probably never will.

When it comes to writing, I’m dabbling here and there, just kinda getting my feet wet again after not writing for a bit.  Since we’ve got ABSOLUTELY NOTHING planned this weekend, my ass will be in the chair while August watches soccer, and with any kind of luck, I’ll get through my rewrites and really haul ass on something new.

So what did y’all do last weekend?

