Guess what?  The Master’s was on this weekend, so guess what we did?  You got it, watched soccer and golf.  Can you actually HEAR the grass growing in my part of the world?  Because I certainly watched it this weekend *g*.

So, because we obviously didn’t watch a whole heckuva lot besides that, and I was in writing mode, we’re gonna go with music this week.

Live, Throwing Copper (1994) … crap, until I wrote the year on this bad boy, I didn’t realize it was thirteen freakin’ years old.  Sigh.  At least I know I’ve had the CD for that long!  LOL.  Anyway, this is one of my favoritist albums ever.  They were singing about religious overtones long before those pikers Creed were, and doing it right.  Most everyone who listens to a rock station will recognize several of the songs from this album (I Alone, Selling the Drama, Lightning Crashes, All Over You), but what sometimes gets lost in the great guitar riffs and haunting melodies are the actual words themselves.  One of my favorites on this album is Selling the Drama (in fact, it’s one of the main “soundtrack” songs for View to a Kill).  The best explanation of the lyrics can be found here, but when it all comes down to it, it basically talks to the fact that you have to find your own spirituality within yourself, and then go with how that realization guides you.  Since I’ve never been a fan of organized religion (in my happy world, I don’t need a middleman to talk to the big deity), this song really speaks to me.  I’m also really fond of All Over You, which has great riffs, and picks you up, no matter what your mood.  Pillar of Davidson and White, Discussion are two songs that don’t really seem to fit this album, but do, if you know what I mean.  They’re both obviously Live songs, but “different”…if nothing else, give them a listen and see what you think!

Well, that’s it for me today…happy Monday!

