Well, I didn’t get as much written as I wanted to this last week, only 3,000 words, which is well below my 7,000 word target.  I’m not entirely sure why, but I *did* get some brainstorming done during lunch that will up the amperage a bit…

I’ve said it before…I’m a pantser.  Heck, at least in this book I knew who the bad guy was right out the gate…that’s unusual for me.  I guess I just love getting to know my characters as I write.  As an example, yesterday I learned that my hero and villain (who were best friends in an institution) had succeeded in shutting down the “school” they were imprisoned at for a good long time.  Until my fingertips actually smacked the keys, I had no idea they’d actually done it!  It adds a nice plot twist I hadn’t forseen.

I also had a chat with my friend Cindy last night, and I was talking about how I know my mainstream books are on the “weird” side (witches, ghosts, cops and people that see other dimensions…hello!), but I’m just not interested in writing to what the current standards are (whatever that means).  I LIKE my quirky folks and their oddities!  I’m not going to go out and eat their fave food, but I WILL listen to their music *g*.  Sigh.  If that means I write e-books until the day I kick it, then that’s cool, but it’s frustrating to have folks tell you your books kick ass, but they can’t be traditionally shelved.

Anyway, enough of my whining *g*…here’s the word count for this week.

Zokutou word meterZokutou word meter

61,089 / 95,000
(64.3%)

