Movie:  The Bone Collector (1999) … I saw this movie a long time ago, and really liked it then, but it came on Bravo this weekend, so I settled in to watch after finishing up with my writing for the night.  What I think I enjoyed most about this flick is the acting and character arcs.  The suspense plot itself was a bit predictable (in the movie…not so much in the book), but I loved watching Lincoln Rhyme (Denzel Washington) and Amanda Donaghy (Angelina Jolie) grow as they worked through the case.  This is one of the only films I’ve seen Jolie in that I’ve been impressed with, and perhaps that’s because she wasn’t yet an “it” girl…she actually had to act instead of using her body as part of her character (and yes, I do realize it’s an awesome body…I’m just saying).  The plot, while I may have dissed it a smidge above, does move along at a rapid clip, and keeps your interest, but in the end, it’s the characters, to include a great supporting cast to include Queen Latifah, Luiz Guzman and Ed O’Neill, that draws you in.  While the quasi-romantic ending didn’t particularly work for me, the rest of the movie did, so at the end of the day, it’s a more-than-pleasant way to spend two hours. 

