I actually got a decent amount of writing done this last week…a little over 2,000 words, which makes me very happy.  Normally I’d be all depresso about not getting more written, but I was working out serious plot issues in my head before committing to paper (or keyboard).  Basically the series I’m working on (RuneQuest) have all had a paranormal romantic suspense bent to them, and for a good long bit I had no idea what the suspense angle of Sea of Dreams was going to be, or even where the damned rune was hidden.  But as I hacked away in fleshing out the characters, it was like a lightbulb came on.

Now that’s not to say that I have any idea whatsoever what the various twists and turns will be, or how things will go boom in the end, but at least I have my baddie in my head, I’ve introduced him (if only through a dream sequence) and I’ve got my heroine and hero back together again.

That’s one thing I’ve discovered about writing novellas…you’d better have that shit square, otherwise you’ll squander way too much of your word count in setting things up.  While novellas can be everything from spicy to inspirational, getting to the gist of the story quickly is an absolute must.  Sooo, when all’s said and done, I’m 5,700 words deep and have vowed to my crit partner to be at 10,000 by the end of the weekend.  (We’re using utter humiliation as a cattle prod *g*).

Zokutou word meterZokutou word meter

5,700 / 30,000
(19.0%)

