So hubby and I were cruising stations on Friday evening, and came across Mad Men on AMC.  Now I’ve been seeing the previews for it for the last month or so, and thought it looked pretty good, and hubby was so inclined, so we settled in to watch.

Let me say up front, this is a show I could easily get addicted to (if the second & third installments are as good as the first).  The writing is sharp and dryly funny, with characters I could really get to care about.  In fact, I adored the lead, Jon Hamm even though that takes a sharp turn at the very end of “Smoke Gets in Your Eyes” (the first episode).  I don’t want to spoil anything for those of you who haven’t seen it, but the writers/directors/producers did an excellent job of making us care about him before we take that “oh hell no, he did NOT” lurch.  Hell, I’m probably spoiling it a bit anyway, but damn, I didn’t see it coming until about 30 seconds before it did.

Anyway, if you want to watch a show that’s truly unique, with excellent character portrayals and screenwriting, then dial this one up as soon as you can!!

