Mean Girls (2004)…This was an interesting movie.  I liked the concept behind it, even more so the fact that Tina Fey was the screenplay writer, but in the end, it just didn’t have the punch for me that something like The New Guy (one of my all-time faves for the musical/guest-star component), Can’t Buy Me Love (when no-one but us Eighties freaks knew who Patrick Dempsey was) or She’s All That has.  Don’t get me wrong, I like Lindsey Lohan enough as an actress (she was great in the new Parent Trap and Freaky Friday, never mind her apparent fascination with being a Mean Girl in real life) but in this one, the story of fitting in and redemption didn’t ring true enough.  Granted, Rachel McAdams (as Regina George) was a revelation as the original Mean Girl.  In fact, she was the best part of the whole movie.  If this is something you can get on free-TV, like I did, then no big, but I wouldn’t recommend shelling out bank for it.

