Wealthy Lady Georgina Maitland doesn’t want a husband, though she could use a good steward to run her estates.  One look at Harry Pye, and Georgina knows she’s not just dealing with a servant, but a man.  Harry has known many aristocrats-including one particular nobleman who is his sworn enemy.  But Harry has never met a beautiful lady so independent, and eager to be in his arms.  Still, it’s impossible to conduct a discreet liaison when poisoned sheet, murdered villagers, and an enraged magistrate have the county in an uproar.  Soon, it’s all Georgina can do to keep her head above water and Harry’s out of the noose…without missing another night of love.

I got this book free at the RWA conference in Dallas this year and decided to page through it to see if I’d be interested.  Holy crap!  I was hooked from page one and it didn’t let me go until the very end.  Where to start?  I guess with Georgie…she was awesome!  A truly fun heroine who liked to make herself seem silly, but was really sensible and level-headed.  Harry?  Simply to-die-for.  He was a man’s man, one who knew his place in life, but wasn’t particularly happy about it, and more than ready to remedy it.  While I was kinda meh about the killer, the real story was in watching Georgie and Harry’s relationship blossom.  I’ll definitely be picking up the first story in the series, The Raven Prince (and while the two seem loosely connected, I never got the feeling I was missing anything) and The Serpent Prince when it’s released.  Ms. Hoyt, you’re now on my auto-buy list!

