And now, it’s my complete pleasure to introduce you to Rachel Vincent, whose scalding new urban fantasy hit the shelves about six weeks ago…try STRAY, you’ll LOVE it!!

MftBS: What’s the coolest thing that’s happened to you as an author?

Being an author is pretty cool in itself, but so far, my first sale was pretty much the highlight. And getting mail from readers who liked the book. That’s amazing!

MftBS: If you were trying to describe your work to a new reader, what would you say?

My writing is dark, and sometimes gritty. My characters all have room to grow, and I love watching them discover things about themselves-and each other-that neither of us knew existed.

MftBS: Who are three of your favorite writers & why?

 Steven King. I’m a huge King fan, and I own nearly every book he’s written. The man can write anything. Horror, fantasy, romance. It doesn’t matter; he’s good at it all

I also love Kim Harrison, for dark fantasy, and Faye Kellerman, for mysteries. But lately I’ve discovered so many new writers that the list is ever-expanding.

MftBS: What is your oddest habit while writing?

Hmmm. I’m not sure I have any odd habits. I don’t print my manuscripts, though. At all. I do everything-proofreading, note-taking, and rewriting-in Word. My editor even lets me email in a list of changes during the line edits.

MftBS: Last but not least…what tidbit of BSP (Blatant Self Promotion) would you like to share with my devoted, die-hard fans?

I’m on-line all the time. I have a blog, a LiveJournal, a MySpace page, a website, and a Yahoo group, and I’m active on them all. I love to hear from readers, and I write back to every email I receive, even if it takes me a little while to get caught up.

