Tons of things going on this week, not the least of which is some serious nail-biting going on in our household over the SoCal fires.  All of August’s immediate and extended family lives in the San Diego and LA area.  While Mom, Dad, sisters, and their kids are fine and dandy, a whole passel of his aunts, uncles and cousins were evacuated from the Rancho Bernardo area, and have no idea (yet) if their homes are still standing.  Cross fingers and toes for me that all is well.

We’re neck deep in boxes here, which is great, because it means the move is that much closer.  We close on Monday, and it seems like it’s taken forever to get here, but zipped by at the same time, if you know what I mean.  In happy news, we’ve already rented out our current house to an incoming student pilot, so we’re only carrying two mortgages for two weeks.  Whew!  That was a massive relief.  I found out, while packing up the office, that I have WAY too many books.  Seriously.  I gave away three big grocery bags to my elderly next door neighbor, have three more sitting in my truck to give to a reader at the base commissary, and at least three more sitting in the room I’ll probably take to one of our senior care facilities.  Never mind that there are two huge boxes and three grocery bags full that I’m keeping, tho most of those are research books and the paperbacks I couldn’t quite let go of (think Vonnegut, King and the keeper list I posted a while back on my Thursday 13).

Because of this, I haven’t done squat when it comes to writing.  I’m still trying to write my heroine out of the corner I’ve painted her into, but I think I have the solution.  Now there’s something wrong with her backstory that’s stalling me.  I’ll figure it out, probably while I’m unpacking and have nothing to write on *g*!!

That’s pretty much it for this week.  Obviously next week I’ll be checking in sporadically, as I get this house completely packed, and start moving into the new one, but I’ll post when I can!!

