Well, I’ve been moving along at a pretty decent speed on Breath, at least for me.  The damned day job just keeps getting more taxing…we’ve got an inspection coming in May and the freak-out has commenced!  I wrote 1,500 on Monday, and another 1,600 done yesterday, despite the fact my brain was thinking about quality improvement and patient safety when I got home!

When it comes to the great Agent Update, nothing has changed, alas.  If anything changes, y’all will be the first to know. Okay, behind my critique partners, Skully, Leigh and Pat and my bestest writing bud Rinda.  LOL.

  • Agent #1        Queried in Oct…rejected (nicely) in late Nov
  • Agent #2        Queried in Dec…requested partial sent out on 12/4/07
  • Agent #3        Queried in Dec…requested partial sent out on 12/4/07
  • Agent #4        Queried in Dec…”blind” partial (as per their guidelines) sent…no reply yet
  • Agent #5        Queried in Dec…no reply yet

I’ve got another three or four agents in the hopper whom I’ll query if those I’ve already sent something to aren’t interested.

I had an interesting conversation last week with not one, but two people…going to do them in sequential order *g*.

So I’m talking to Rinda, and through the course of our conversation, my semi-buzzed ass relates that I’m afraid I’m not getting deep enough because I like to write about “normal people” in extraordinary situations, rather than secret agents or werewolves and the like.  Damn…talk about a revelation.  Am I getting deep enough with my books?  Am I hitting that black moment appropriately?  This was never a concern when I was just writing for the thrill of it, rather than with an eye toward saleability.  Granted, the last “big” books I’ve written have been “books of the heart”, at least at the time.  Now I find myself going back and looking at them in a really, really analytical fashion.  Are they good enough for NY?  For the big boys and girls?  Or am I smoking dope, and just writing what I want to?

Which then thrusts me into conversation two, with Leigh.  We seriously talked about the comfort of writing “e”…we get to pen the stories that strike us, rather than those that may be saleable to the titans.  Is this actually wrong?  Shouldn’t we be working on what fires us up, what makes our writer’s juices flow (and no, that’s not a dirty thought *g*), rather than what’ll get us into the NY pantheon?

It’s a serious conundrum.  Really.  Because if you break into NY, the theory is that if you sell decently, you’ll be able to write the books that spark you, rather than the same old, same old.

But now, having worked for a really solid “e” company (shameless plug here:  www.liquidsilverbooks.com) for several years on the management end, I have to wonder.  We turn aside books from previously pubbed folks because they’re not strong enough, etc, etc.  So does this make us different from NY?  I think not.

As an example, I subbed my previously lauded mainstream books (Summerland and Brotherhood) to another e-publisher.  Not because the publisher I was with was bad or anything, but because their focus had shifted, and I wanted more sales.  Basic math, right?  Not so much.  The publisher I subbed to straight up didn’t care for them.

WTF?  I’m not saying this as a sour grapes thing (notice the lack of any names here *g*), but as a point of fact.

As a writer, you not only have to have a saleability factor, but “hit” the editor in question at the right time.  It’s a matter of luck, more than I’d ever realized when I ventured into this crazy game.  And I’m finding, as I grow some balls and venture into the agent search, that it’s much the same thing.

