Not much going on with me today…I spent last night getting my first-round edits on Sea of Dreams finished and back to my wonderful editor.  It seems that I have a new “favorite” word with every manuscript.  This time it was “then”.  One hundred and twenty-eight of them (in a 30,000 word manuscript) to be exact.  Holy crap! Luckily, a majority of them were total fluff, and something I could take out without impacting the sentence or the scene, but a few required rewrites, because I had ’em bunched together.  Sigh.  Last year my fave word was “that”….so now it’s on my watchword list and I go through and take out as many as I can before sending up.  Guess I’ve gotta add “then”, as well.

This weekend I’ve got line edits on the print version of Saints of Midland, a critique for Leigh, and a critique for Pat, so not sure how much writing I’m gonna get done, which is oddly comforting for some reason.  I seriously blazed through 24K in Breath of Heaven in one month, which is *really* fast for me, and so now I like the idea of letting it percolate a bit.  I think, if my schedule permits, that I’m gonna take next Friday off, and that’s what I’ll do…reread and get some word count in before I head down to my RWA meeting in Oklahoma City…

