So if you’ve caught some of my review’s of Nalini Singh’s work, you know I ADORE her books…I had a chance to interview (and sign!!) with her last year, and she graciously agreed to contribute to the newsletter.  (Remember, you can get these babies hot off the press once a month by signing up for the newsletter…and have a chance to win a $10 gift certif to Amazon!!).  Anyway, with no further ado…Nalini Singh!

MftBS: What’s the coolest thing that’s happened to you as an author?

I think the first sale is just something special.  The excitement of knowing that my book was going to go out there in the world – it was this amazing, wonderful, stupendous feeling! It makes me grin each time I think of it.

But you know, cool things happen every day – every time a reader emails to tell me they loved my work, it just makes my day. 🙂

MftBS: If you were trying to describe your work to a new reader, what would you say?

I write about the Psy, a race that buried their emotions a century ago in an effort to fight a vicious tide of insanity and murder, and the changeling shapeshifters who challenge their perfect Silence. The Psy have amazing powers of the mind, none of the heart, while the changelings crave touch, live for sensation. Caught somewhere in between are the humans.

If you like hot, alpha heroes, strong heroines, and find yourself intrigued by the idea of a world in which telepathy is accepted and a panther can walk alongside a human, check out my books!

MftBS: Who are three of your favorite writers & why?

Oh wow, this is SUCH a difficult question!! I’m a huge reader and have so many favorites. Here are three (but really, I need a whole page to list them all!)

JD Robb – love, love, LOVE her In Death series. I’m really in awe of how she’s kept the Eve/Roarke relationship interesting despite the fact that the two of them are now married.

Anne McCaffrey – her Pern series, & her Tower and the Hive series are just amazing blends of sf/fantasy and romance. The way she builds worlds, creates these wonderful relationships, it’s something extraordinary.

Jayne Castle (actually Jayne Ann Krentz in any of her guises!) – I really enjoy her characters and how they interact. Love her alpha heroes, especially when they’ve convinced everyone else that they’re beta. Yeah, right!

MftBS: What is your oddest habit while writing?

Hmm, sometimes I listen to music in other languages. I might not know what it means, but if the tone works for me, I’ll listen to it.

MftBS: Last but not least…what tidbit of BSP (Blatant Self Promotion) would you like to share with my devoted, die-hard fans?

Well, I have a book out this month – it’s called CARESSED BY ICE and it’s about an icy Psy assassin that I just know you’ll love. On reader said that the hero was “so dominant, so controlled, so Icy Hot that he gave me hot flashes” . Oooh la la!

If you want to read extended excerpts of all the books in the series, check out a free short story, or go Behind the Scenes, swing by my website: http://www.nalinisingh.com/

Also, just for fun, you might want to check out this quiz to see which Psy/Changeling hero is for you: http://www.quizilla.com/users/NaliniSingh/quizzes/Which%20Psy-Changeling%20Hero%20Is%20For%20You?/

