Okay, so it’s not a movie, or music, but hey, TV is a medium too *g*!!

 

Cash Cab is our latest obsession…seriously, we watch this show every weeknight.  If you’re unfamiliar with it, I implore you to check it out on the Discovery Channel.  The gist is this…a cabdriver (who happens to also be a stand-up comedian) picks up random fares throughout New York City, and then quizzes them on general knowledge questions for the duration of their ride…they collect cash with each correct answer or strikes…three strikes and they’re outta the cab with nothing but a free cab ride.  If they make it all the way, they can walk with the moola or go double or nothing on a video bonus question.

 

So why do we find this show so fascinating?  Because of the amazing range of folks who get in the cab.  The questions themselves range from pretty easy (the $25 range) to sometimes hard.  Hubby and I are serious history/current event nuts, so we get about 99% of the answers, but I can’t even imagine the pressure of getting into a cab, ready to head to your destination, when all of a sudden a bunch of flashing lights come on, and you’re being quizzed.  I’d probably totally blank even the basics.

 

 

This is the only true reality TV contest I’ve seen, because there’s no screening process, therefore the cross-section of players is hugely varied.

 

Not only is it fascinating, it’s damned funny in addition to making you think… I hope this show is still running when I hit the RWA Conference there in a few years, because if it is, wherever I go, I’m loading up with the smartest folks I know so maybe we can win some cash, baby!!

