So we’re in San Francisco, and Leigh and I are taking a rare break to sit in the sun of the courtyard outside the hotel for a moment to have a smoke.  Leigh had boogie to a lunch meeting, and for once, I had a precious hour to myself, so I decided to take walk and just enjoy the day.  So I cruise for a bit, people watching and generally enjoying myself, then head back to the hotel.  As I’m approaching the courtyard, my phone rings.  I look at the caller ID and see that it’s Leigh, so the conversation goes something like this…

“Hey darlin’, what’s up?” (me)

“Well, I’m not your darlin’, but I think your boyfriend left their phone on a bench.” (totally unknown male voice). “If you have him call me, we can arrange a swap.” (yeah, obviously I call EVERYONE darlin’ *g*)

By this time I’m walking into the courtyard, and can see two dudes sitting where Leigh and I were, so I say, “Are you wearing jeans and brown shirt?”

He looks up, totally dumbfounded and when I raise my hand in acknowledgement, he breaks into this huge smile.

I walk up to them and he hands over the phone.  Did I mention this is a gazillion dollar Blackberry with all the bells and whistles??  No kidding.  I gave him a big hug and gushed appropriately, then wandered into the hotel and found Leigh.  To say she was flabbergasted was an understatement, as were the women she was getting ready to lunch with.

So now I feel the need to totally redact my statement about Oklahoma being one of the last great places where folks can actually act with kindness.  Color me humbled (and pretty damned happy about it!)

