Half-vampire Catherine Crawfield is going after the undead with a vengeance, hoping that one of these deadbeats is her father–the one responsible for ruining her mother’s life. Then she’s captured by Bones, a vampire bounty hunter, and is forced into an unholy partnership. In exchange for finding her father, Cat agrees to train with the sexy night stalker until her battle reflexes are as sharp as his fangs. She’s amazed she doesn’t end up as his dinner–are there actually good vampires? Pretty soon Bones will have her convinced that being half-dead doesn’t have to be all bad. But before she can enjoy her newfound status as kick-ass demon hunter, Cat and Bones are pursued by a group of killers. Now Cat will have to choose a side … and Bones is turning out to be as tempting as any man with a heartbeat.

 

I admit, when I picked this book up, I was wondering how much I would enjoy yet another vamp novel told in first person.  Thank goodness I took the chance.  Cat is a singularly distinctive voice, and I was drawn in immediately.  Her “cause” is really unique and makes the reader wonder if she’s really gonna be the heroine of this book.  But once she’s teamed up with enigmatic Bones, she becomes beautifully sympathetic.  Bones was intriguing as a “hero” as well…again, I wondered how much I would be rooting for him.  By mid-point in the book, I was totally sucked in and reading waaaaay past my bedtime.  So much so that I immediately went out and bought the next book (One Foot in the Grave), which I’ll review next week.

 

The thing that drove me completely nuts about this book was Cat’s mother.  The fact Frost could evoke such emotion from me for a secondary character was awesome, tho I still wanted to reach through the pages and whack her in the head repeatedly.

 

If you’re looking for a totally different spin on the vampire mythos, with intriguing and well-drawn-out characters, then buy this one!

