Gran Torino (2008 )  Hubby and I went to watch this in the theater (a treat for us).  As we left the theater, I couldn’t help but think the last two movies I’ve seen have been less than stellar (see last week’s review on There Will Be Blood) and were supposed to be all that and a bag of chips.  So why didn’t I love Gran Torino?  For starters, the outright bigotry, even though it was across the board, made me cringe.  Yeah, I laughed like everyone else in the theater at some of the cringe-worthy early zingers, but after about an hour, it got old.  As did Clint’s squinting and growling.  Maybe it was because Eastwood’s character, Walt Kowalski, is of an age of both my father and father-in-law, and both served in Korea.  My dad was as redneck and outspoken as he could possibly be, but he never uttered derogatory phrases like the ones casually thrown out in the movie.  Hubby said it was cheesy, hokey and overrated.  Guess you can’t be more succinct than that.

