So I picked up a book I’d been happily anticipating, and even hoarding–and then it hit the wall (literally) approximately four minutes later. In those four minutes, the author made seven, YES, SEVEN, mistakes about not only the military base she was writing about, but the rank structure, military protocols, even the base itself…pretty much everything that had anything to do with the scene.  Hell, the hero (an officer) boinked an enlisted woman, but never once thinks about conduct unbecoming or fraternization.  Really?  Even our most green lieutenants know it’s not only forbidden fruit, but this guy is supposed to be a mid-level officer and it never even crosses his mind.

As you can tell, this pisses me off mightily. Think fingernails on a chalkboard.

Why? Not because the author got it wrong, but because she was lazy. For goodness sakes, if you’re writing a book with any kind of military storyline in it, pick up the phone and call a Public Affairs office!   Or better yet, contact one of the RomVets and ask them. If nothing else, they’ll know a beta reader who’d LOVE to read your book as an “expert”.

Hell, for Behind Blue Eyes, I actually called the Dallas PD and asked them the questions I couldn’t find answers to on their website.  And for my short erotic story Blink of an Eye, I hunted around and found a pararescue guy willing to answer my questions.

Pick up the phone, peeps!! GRRRR

I’ll never buy another book by this author, and she’s quite well regarded, but now she’s on my do no buy list.

