As much as it pains me to say it out loud, I think I’ve come to the end of reading ongoing, long-running series. I’m not talking interconnected romances…I’m good with those, but rather those books that have long and intricate storylines (usually urban fantasies). I still love the writing and the characters, but I just can’t keep track of the plots, not unless I want to limit myself to those books alone.

I read across multiple genres and categories, so keeping worldbuilding deets straight across several series is beginning to seem like work, and I’ve already got a day job, the Editorial Director gig and writing going on. How much does that suck?? I guess I just can’t justify spending the moola when my recall of the worldbuilding is foggy at best because I’ve read a dozen other books in the intervening year since the last book in the series came out. Does that make sense? Or am I being cranky *G*??

