This is the fifth book in the Sentinel Wars series, and I HIGHLY recommend the previous books be read first to get the full effect/history, since it’s a very complicated urban fantasy world.

I think the main thing that keeps me coming back to this series, Nalini Singh’s Psy/Changeling series and Jessica Anderson’s Nightkeepers books is the fact that while there is an overarching storyline that influences everything, each of the books focus on one romance and follow it to it’s Happily Ever After.  I’ve pretty much given up on continuous storylines that feature the same heroine/hero because after about the 4th book I just can keep interest (with the exception of Jennifer Estep’s Gin Blanco series).

This was a great addition to the Sentinel Wars mythos, this time exploring the blood-drinking Sanguinar Logan and introducing us to Hope, a woman with out a past who touches Logan in a way no one ever has…but is forbidden to him.  As I read this, I have to admit, I didn’t see any way they could get their HEA, but was I ever happily surprised!  Both characters are wonderfully tortured, but not so much that I, as a reader, couldn’t identify with them.  Additionally, the storyline is continued, maybe through more ancillary characters’ POV than I’d prefer, but it was well done.

This one is well worth picking up, and I can’t wait until the next one comes out!!!

